Happy Valentine’s Day 2023 from Katie Cadet’s Computer and Video Game Collection!

It’s Valentine’s Day! What’s best about Valentine’s Day is my love of computers, my family, and of course, sweet treats too!

To celebrate, I recently acquired a PlayStation 4 Pro on Kijiji, because, being a PlayStation 3 fan, and a PlayStation 2 fan, and also a PSOne fan, it was definitely a worthwhile addition in light of the PlayStation 5 where there was limited stock available. Being 4K and HDMI 2.0 with HDR and all that, it plugs into my new Hisense 4k Roku TV without any issues and the digital optical audio is connected to my Vizio 5.1 Sound Bar, with the audio set to a DTS bitstream.

What’s nice is that the Vizio 5.1 Sound Bar never cuts out on my new setup with the Hisense TV if I stop using the Roku TV remote for a while before I turn off any device that’s connected with HDMI as video, and digital coaxial or optical as audio, and the Vizio 5.1 Sound Bar retains the input I selected before I pick up the Hisense Roku TV remote and go to the home screen or turning off the TV, then it switches to HDMI IN, or HDMI-ARC, and it also does that when I turn on the TV. Not such a big deal.

On my PlayStation 4 Pro, I’ve installed some free games such as The Sims 4, Hatsune Miku Project Diva Future Tone, Fall Guys, some Pinball games, Rocket League, and Frozen Free Fall, based on the Disney film series since 2013. When I was out thrifting, I found a physical copy of NHL 19 for the PlayStation 4, and tested the game for the first time when I got the PS4 Pro! I also tested out various DVD-Video discs and Standard Blu-ray discs, such as Close to You: Remembering the Carpenters, The Best of Times (1986), Casablanca (Warner Bros/MGM), and Benji Off the Leash (Mill Creek Blu-ray). There was some upscaling in the output when it comes to Blu-rays which is more noticeable than DVD’s, and performs similarly to my Sony UBP-X800M2 UHD player when playing the same title on that player just for the sake of it.

Unfortunately, I cannot play all the variants of the CD format on the PS4 Pro due to an omission of an infrared laser, and it also cannot play 4k Ultra-HD Blu-ray discs as well, for that I would need my Sony UBP-X800M2 to play those kind of discs!

So in the end, I’m really happy with my PlayStation 4 Pro! Being a PlayStation fan, why not get the then-latest one at the time of the limited stock of the PS5. And don’t forget to check back for more blog posts here at Katie Cadet’s Computer and Video Game Collection! For now, Happy Valentine’s Day, and take care!

29 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day 2023 from Katie Cadet’s Computer and Video Game Collection!

Leave a comment