Revisiting the StarFlyers Fun Site in 2021!

The StarFlyers Fun Site is one of my earliest fan websites of the StarFlyers that I did in late 2014! Unfortunately, my previous web hosting provider (000Webhost) decided to expire the site due to server costs (it’s not my fault, it’s theirs!). Looking back at this website was a revolutionary experience! I was using SoftQuad’s Hot Metal Pro 4.0 to do the website coding (I was mentioning on that site that this was made using 90s commercial software, specifically 1997.), while retaining compatibility with older browsers such as Netscape Navigator 3, and Internet Explorer 4. The web address is formerly located at thesffunsite.site11.com.

What would be a good project is to look up that website into oldweb.today to see if I was right! And I did! Old 90’s website style reimagined on a modern PC (I used Edge on Windows 10 as the host.), something that my 2014 self had some imagination on an ASUS Transformer T100 before Windows 10 came out!

As you can see, some people used to download sound clips of the StarFlyers games from here, but unfortunately, the Internet Archive has not backed up the clips correctly, only the pages that are visited before (think HTML). But all I can say that people using Netscape Navigator 3 on their retro computer (either Windows 3.1 or Mac OS 8) would’ve probably gone to that website if it was still alive. Speaking of Netscape Navigator 3, Michael MJD has made a video about it for you to enjoy here:

Overall, it was a blast from the past! I hope you enjoyed time travelling with me to see the StarFlyers Fun Site from 2014 before it became wiped out forever! If you like this blog post, stay tuned for more! In the meantime, I gotta get back to the present day, so take care!

One thought on “Revisiting the StarFlyers Fun Site in 2021!

Leave a comment