Katie Cadet’s Computer and Video Game Collection and COVID-19 (Coronavirus)

Here at Katie Cadet’s Computer and Video Game Collection, I always love collecting computers and video games (even consoles and computer software on CD-ROM) of all generations, from the early 1980s up to the late 2010s, acquired from thrift stores, garage sales, gaming conventions, flea markets, and even classified ads and online retailers such as Amazon and Kijiji!

My side-project is collecting music on vinyl records (LP’s and 45’s), cassettes, DVD-Audio discs, and Music CD’s from the early 1950s up to the late 2010s, as well as TV Shows and Movies on VHS videocassettes, Video CD’s, DVD-Video discs, and Blu-ray Discs from the early 1980s up to the late 2010s. You can find my music collection through the Discogs database, where you can look up millions of entries of music in the physical format, and shop for what title or version you want online, but most importantly, you can store a collection of what you have, or make a want list for titles that are important and that you really want for your collection.

Now, here’s the big problem of the new decade: COVID-19 (The Coronavirus) is spreading throughout the entire world, including Canada, which is where I live. All the places I usually go to, such as thrift stores and flea markets, have been temporarily shut down, and everyone needs to stay at home so that they will not get sick! It happened in around March 14th (PI Day!), and it is still occurring as I am writing this blog post. I know this is a difficult month when it started, but hey, I had enough acquisitions to keep me occupied until the virus is cured. This is a big project for the world, and research for a suitable vaccine will be completed as soon as possible.

In the meantime, I am keeping myself occupied with my computers and video games, but recently, I preserved more of my CD-ROMs by uploading the ISO disc images to the Internet Archive, including Garfield’s Typing Pal, Looney Tunes Daily Desktop, and a couple of Greeting Card Maker software from SoftKey and Expert Software. If you are at home because of the virus, I might as well provide you with some software! Also, these CD-ROMs are at least 10 to 30 years old, so they are qualified as abandonware before the upload process began.

So, I hope everyone is OK in their homes! And remember to check back for more blog posts here at Katie Cadet’s Computer and Video Game Collection! For now, take care!

#COVID-19 #StaySafe #KeepOnPlaying

8 thoughts on “Katie Cadet’s Computer and Video Game Collection and COVID-19 (Coronavirus)

Leave a comment